Week 8 – Suggested Blog

It has been suggested to blog along this week answering the below questions.

  1. Briefly outlines your knowledge and experience with digital citizenship and the safe, responsible, and ethical use of ICT in your personal and professional lives;You might like to include what you know or have experience around bullying, cyber-bullying, spamming, phishing, identity theft etc. 

    Safe and responsible use of ICT would be to ensure students are not being put in vulnerable positions or using inappropriate sites. An inappropriate site may be Facebook, chat rooms, or using search engines incorrectly. As a teacher I would need to ensure sites used are appropriate and that student’s are aware of safety concerns like not giving away personal information or breaching confidentiality. I too need to ensure I abide to this and in the sense of prac and this blog I practice confidentiality.Internet can be a wonderful tool but, also a scary one. For instance the recent news story how an oversees website was used to display Australian school kids anonymously doing sexual acts in their uniforms. OMG!

    Bullying too is a scary element of the internet where face to face bullying only occurs in school grounds over the internet it’s there in the person’s face at any time and they can’t switch off of it. Trolling for famous people would be horrendous too.

    Lastly as we worked through this semester we were exposed to ethical use of ICT including the misuse of copyrighted materials. This too is a consideration for myself and other teachers.

  2. Summarises your results for each of the quizzes you’ll be asked to complete soon; 

    Bullying quiz – I got 50% I got that face to face bullying is still the leading cause of bullying wrong and that bullys have low self-esteem wrong.Cyber safety – I got 2 wrong as mention below. Keep URL for site as resource.

  3. Includes your critical reflections on those quizzes, their content, and what it says about what you thought and wrote for point 1. 

    Bullying – I thought bullying was often done by little a****s that had low self esteem not the opposite. I assumed if you’re unhappy with yourself they would take out on others and also maybe be victim to it from an older sibling or at home, then mimic the behavior. I also thought that internet based bullying would be the leading due to apps and programs such as Facebook and even just texting on a phone. I knew that teaching a child to be assertive wouldn’t solve bullying as it needs a multidimensional approach from all parties not just the victim. Lastly, I forget the last question… I’ll come back if I can recall it.Cyber Safety – Question 1 Sarah emails saying I’m a loser… I kept this email to show my parents but the correct answer was delete? I think that’s wrong… maybe in this instance where your a loser could be deleted but, if it escalated to death threats etc I think the thread should be kept in it entirety… Plus keep to show the school to and use as evidence when talking to Sarah’s parents. This is then rectified later with a text message with a similar scenario where you keep the text…
    The other question I got wrong was giving away your email in a sign up safe page… I guess as an adult everything I sign up to asks for my email so to me its normal. For students on safe sights though I assume it is not.

    What do I know what have I learnt? I know the general gist but, learnt more about ‘safe sites’. School scenarios and ages would effect the cyber safety responses I got wrong – I feel. Bullying is horrible and as a mum the net scares me for my children – I don’t want them exposed to bullying in the warmth and comfort of there own home 😦

 

 

2 thoughts on “Week 8 – Suggested Blog

Leave a Reply

